top of page


Land Acknowledgement

St. Matthew’s Episcopal Church sits on the traditional homelands of the people of the Council of Three Fires: the Ojibwe, Potawatomi, and Odawa nations. This land was also a place of travel and trade to many other tribes, including the Menominee, Ho-Chunk, and Miami tribes. These Native Peoples were forced off their lands with the Second Treaty of Prairie du Chien in 1829. After a series of land transfers, St. Matthew’s acquired its current site within this territory in 1906. Today, Cook County is home to tens of thousands of Native Americans from many tribes. We acknowledge and respect our Indigenous neighbors, as we strive to be good stewards of this Native land.

bottom of page